Sigma Delta Omega Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Incorporated ®, Elk Grove, California was chartered on January 20, 1990, at the Clarion Hotel in Downtown Sacramento. This dream of Soror Ada Hamilton was a culmination of dedication and hard work. Soror Ada discussed the idea with Sorors Marietta Scott, Martha Pennington and Eula Hollis. The Sorors planned to bring together inactive Sisters to help charter and establish this new chapter.

In the beginning, there were many informal meetings at Soror Marietta’s home as well as others. The small group gathered to acquaint themselves with protocol that was needed to establish a new chapter. They also gathered to initiate the reclamation of Sorors without a local chapter home.

Soror Archalene Amos Martin, the 17th Far Western Regional Director chartered the chapter. Membership began with the eighteen charter members: ‘Gwendolyn Aaron, `Dorothy Earl, Lorraine Emery, Verbena Gregory, `Eula Hollis, Casandra Moore-Hudnacc , Mary Louise Mack , `Terri Mack , Priscilla Marsh , Charlotte E. Williams , Barbara Smith-Nash, Martha Pennington, Susan Preston ,’Imogene Rhodes, Marietta Scott, Alfreda Thompson , Lynn Flannigan-Williams and Sallie Wilson. Soror Carolyn Robinson also joined during the early years.

Although Sigma Delta Omega was chartered after Soror Ada’s passing, her leadership and dreams have lived on throughout the years due to the commitment of its chapter presidents: Marietta Scott, Priscilla Marsh, Gwendolyn Taylor, Sandra Watson, Barbara Smith-Nash (1994-1997), Sandra O. Poole (1998-2001) Gloria Clemons-White (2002-2005), Mertie Shelby (2006-2007), Dorothy J. Smith (2008 -2011), Toya P. Davis (2012-2015) and Kamieka Hairston (Current). More than twenty-five years later, Sigma Delta Omega continues to serve the Elk Grove community, and we’re committed to continue the legacy of those who came before us.

Graduate Chapter Achievement Award (Medium Sized Chapter of the Year), 2017
STAR Award, 2017
Launching New Dimensions of Service Awards, 1st Place in the following categories: Health Promotions, Global Impact and One Million Backpacks
Chapter Scrapbook (Medium Sized Chapter), 1st Place, 2017
The Charlene D. Carodine Unique Professional Achievement Award, 2015
Certification of Recognition, Assemblyman Jim Cooper, 9th District, 2015
The Regional Director’s Chapter Leadership Award -2014, 2015
The Mary P. King Alumni Award-2014
Chapter Scrapbook (Electronic), 2nd Place, 2014
The Graduate Chapter Achievement Award (Small Chapter of the Year), 2013, 2014
The Billie Jean Barrett AKA Connection Innovative Award- 2013